Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Newberry, Caldecott Winners Announced....

Rebecca Stead has won the 2010 Newbery Medal for When You Reach Me (Random/Wendy Lamb). Jerry Pinkney has won the 2010 Randolph Caldecott Medal for The Lion & the Mouse (Little, Brown). And Libba Bray has won the 2010 Michael L. Printz Award for Going Bovine (Delacorte). The awards were announced this morning at the American Library Association’s midwinter conference in Boston.

Four Newbery Honor Books were named: Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose (FSG/Kroupa); The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly (Henry Holt); Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin (Little, Brown); and The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick (Scholastic/Blue Sky).

There were two Caldecott Honor Books: All the World, illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon (S&S/Beach Lane); and Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman (Houghton).

Four Printz Honors were given: Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman (Henry Holt); The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey (S&S); Punkzilla by Adam Rapp (Candlewick); and Tales from the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes (Viking).

The Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime contribution in writing for young adults was given to Jim Murphy, and Lois Lowry was chosen to deliver the May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture.

The Robert F. Sibert Award for the most distinguished informational book went to Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone (Candlewick). There were three Sibert Honors: The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer's Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tony Persiani (Charlesbridge); Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 written and illustrated by Brian Floca (Atheneum/Richard Jackson); and Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose (FSG/Kroupa).

A brand-new award, the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award, went to Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman (Henry Holt).

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award for best work of translation went to A Faraway Island by Annika Thor, translated from the Swedish by Linda Schenck (Delacorte). There were three Batchelder Honors: Big Wolf and Little Wolf by Nadine Brun-Cosme, illustrated by Olivier Tallec, translated by Claudia Bedrick (Enchanted Lion); Eidi by Bodil Bredsdorff, translated by Kathryn Mahaffy (FSG); and Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness by Nahoko Uehashi, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, translated by Cathy Hirano (Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine).

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for beginning reader books went to Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! by Geoffrey Hayes (RAW Junior/Toon). There were four Geisel Honor books: I Spy Fly Guy! by Tedd Arnold (Scholastic); Little Mouse Gets Ready by Jeff Smith (RAW Junior/Toon); Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends by Wong Herbert Yee (Houghton); and Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day by Kate McMullan, illustrated by R.W. Alley (Dial).

Three Schneider Family Book Awards were announced: Django by Bonnie Christensen (Roaring Brook/Neal Porter) won for best children’s book; Anything by Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin (S&S) won for best middle grade book; and Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine) won for best teen book.

Walter Dean Myers is the winner of the first-ever Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson won the Coretta Scott King Author award for Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie (Lerner/ Carolrhoda), and Charles R. Smith Jr. won the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for My People, written by Langston Hughes (Atheneum/Ginee Seo). The John Steptoe Award for New Talent went to Kekla Magoon, author of The Rock and the River (S&S/Aladdin).

One King Author Honor Book was selected: Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis (Knopf).

One King Illustrator Honor Book was chosen: The Negro Speaks of Rivers, illustrated by E.B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes (Disney/Jump at the Sun).

Rafael López, author of Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El día de los niños/El día de los libros, written by Pat Mora (HarperCollins/Rayo), won the Pura Belpré Illustrator Award. Julia Alvarez, author of Return to Sender (Knopf) won the Pura Belpré Author Award.

There were three Pura Belpré Honor Books for illustration: Diego: Bigger Than Life, illustrated by David Diaz, written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand (Marshall Cavendish); My Abuelita, illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Tony Johnston (Harcourt); and Gracias Thanks, illustrated by John Parra, written by Pat Mora (Lee & Low).

Two Pura Belpré Author Honor books were named: Diego: Bigger Than Life by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz (Marshall Cavendish); and Federico García Lorca by Georgina Lázaro, illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro (Lectorum).

The Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production went to Live Oak Media, producer of Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Harry Bliss, narrated by Barbara Rosenblat.

There were three Odyssey Honor titles: In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren (Listen & Live); Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson, narrated by Dion Graham (Brilliance Audio); and We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson, narrated by Dion Graham (Brilliance Audio).

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video went to Paul R. Gagne and Mo Willems, producers of Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! (Weston Woods). The video is based on Willems’s picture book of the same name, and was narrated by Willems and Jon Scieszka with animation by Pete List.

No comments: